Sunday Morning Eggs and Potatoes

It had been a long week and it feels like the weekend went by way too fast, so I’m treating myself to a good breakfast this morning. Since I’m making a big pot of beans with lots of tomatoes and spicy goodness, I decided to incorporate some of the broth to my pan as well. It definitely made the plate flavorful and worthy of the addition. I started with bacon, onions and potatoes in my small cast iron skillet. I cooked that until my onions and bacon were not quite cooked through. Then I added a ladle full of spicy tomato sauce from my bean pot. And when I say spicy, I mean hot! I had jalapenos, onions, red pepper flakes, rotel with habaneros, chili powder and cumin. It definitely has a nice kick. I let that go until the broth cooked down and the potatoes were tender and frying up. I added more sauce and then cracked an egg into the middle of my skillet. I let the egg cook a little in the juices then topped it with cheese. 5 minutes under the broiler and I was done! So worth the effort!

Leave a comment